RSS

Motivations

28 Apr

There are a lot of people in this world, and yet sadly they are mostly the same. It’s difficult to be different in such a world. It doesn’t matter what you do but rather what makes you do it; you don’t choose your motivations, and if you try to change them something motivates you to do so, and this ambition is not one you picked. There are very few people who are truly unique – they are not extraordinarily smart or pretty, but simply more interesting. They didn’t do anything to become what they are, they did not choose to be so. They were led to it, by things out of their control; and yet, they are different and I am not.
Person A cannot become person B, he can only become a person who wants to be person B, and rarely does this mean actually being that. In my case, it doesn’t.

Don’t get me wrong; it would be nice to be smart or pretty, but that’s just not my main concern.

Oh, and I’m still alive.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on Sat, 28/Apr/2012 in Musings

 

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “Motivations

  1. Lucianus Mauricius

    Sun, 29/Apr/2012 at 19:06

    Finally, after so long you post something, I was beginning to wonder if you were just a one time wonder, lol, just kidding fo course yet, it’s nice to read a post from you once more. Now, going back to what you posted, it’s interesting approach on individualism and the concept of motivation. It’s indeed true, person A cannot become person B, but he can try and be very close to the original (A). At the same time it’s indeed true we do not chose our motivations, I’ve often thought we were prey of them and thus we had to chose what we did after a certain motivation grabbed us. Case in point, today on my day off, my phone hasn’t stopped ringing from my mother and her ex, which since I gave very short and dry answers yesterday, decided to go deep and find out what was wrong, while I decided to shut them down completely. My phones are on vibrate and I don’t intend on answering to neither one of them for as long as they keep on calling me. So you see, we indeed can’t chose our motivations, they are born from the outside, but we can chose how to react to them, and in this case, giving the cold shoulder, sounds fucking awesome right about now. Oh, did I mention I was spiteful?!

     
    • DewNestry

      Mon, 30/Apr/2012 at 03:09

      I see your point. Sadly, I think the way we decide to deal with one motivation, is merely the outcome of another, which we once again didn’t choose.
      I’s nice to get a comment again.

       
      • Lucianus Mauricius

        Mon, 30/Apr/2012 at 03:21

        I think in my case I do have the power of choice by just not answering the phone, or even better, switching it off. If I had no choice in this “motivation” I would on the phone explaining my reasons for my behavior, where all I wanna do is just be left alone, until I’m able to speak to certain people again. It’s the power to say NO.

         
        • DewNestry

          Mon, 30/Apr/2012 at 05:14

          You can choose to switch it off, and you can choose to be alone. You can’t choose to want that.

           
          • Lucianus Mauricius

            Mon, 30/Apr/2012 at 05:27

            I chose to want that as means to my psychological survival

             
            • DewNestry

              Mon, 30/Apr/2012 at 05:32

              It’s not exactly a choice, is it? Well, I don’t know. This discussion can’t really end. It’s a way of looking at things.

               
      • Lucianus Mauricius

        Mon, 30/Apr/2012 at 03:21

        BTW, It’s good to have you back

         
        • DewNestry

          Mon, 30/Apr/2012 at 05:16

          It’s nice to get comments again. Don’t interpret my crappy mood wrongly. I’m glad to see your comments.

           

Reply

 
